Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc.

Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc.
613 Abbott Street, 6th Floor
Detroit, MI 48226

October 9, 2012

Legal Aid and Defender to award 12 ‘Laddys’ at ceremony Oct. 25

DETROIT – Ten attorneys, a law firm and an office of corporate counsel will receive “Laddy” awards from Legal Aid and Defender Association, Inc. (LAD) at its annual awards ceremony Thursday, Oct. 25 from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the A.
Albert Taubman Center for Design Services at the College for Creative Studies, 485 W. Milwaukee St.

The ceremony will also raise funds for LAD’s Civil Law Group and other LAD activities, according to Deierdre L. Weir, LAD President and CEO.

“As a result of a reduction in funding and a still-struggling economy, the need for financial support of Legal Aid has never been greater,” Weir said. “Support of our Laddy awards ceremony and fundraiser will help us continue our work and give recognition to our volunteers.”

Laddy winners are:

• Pro Bono Attorney of the Year – Karen L. Piper, an attorney with Bodman PLC

• Pro Bono Law Firm of the Year – Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn LLP, represented by Jennifer Zbytowski Belveal, chair of the pro bono committee

• Kelvin W. Scott Pro Bono Corporation of the Year Award –General Motors Corporation, represented by Michael P. Millikin, senior vice president and general counsel

• Pro Bono Spirit-Macomb County – Patrick G. Gagniuk, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Macomb County – Bryan A. Sunisloe, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Oakland County – Krystal Denise Johnson, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Wayne County – Andrea D. Cartwright, an attorney in private practice

• Pro Bono Spirit-Wayne County – Danielle J. Hessell, an attorney with Butzel Long PC

• Friend of LAD – Lynn M. Davidson, director, Macomb County Friend of the Court

• Friend of LAD – Joon H. Sung, assistant professor of law, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law

• Frank D. Eaman Warrior of Justice – Anthony T. Chambers, an attorney in private practice

• Ed Porknoy Pioneer of Justice – The Hon. Vera Massey-Jones, a judge of the Third Judicial Circuit of Michigan

The following attorneys will be recognized for contributing 50 hours or more
of pro bono service: Daniel Nicholas Adams, Michelle A. Carter, Lindsay E.
DeMoss, Ali R. Freeman, Kathryn Ariella Katz, Karen Glorio Luther, David Allen
Malinowski, Roger Peter Meyers, Jessica Lynn Montgomery, Karen L. Piper,
Jan Quasarano, Todd C. Schebor, James Allan Sheridan, Joon H. Sung, Tiffany
Buckley-Norwood, Robert J. Dindoffer, Andrew J. Lievense, Alison B. Miramonti,
Sherry O’Neal Taylor, Patrick O’Reilly, Niesa Trent Fagan, Thomas F. Sweeney
and Joycelyn Ward.

Tickets for the awards ceremony are $75 and are tax deductible. Sponsorship packages are also available.

The entrance to the College for Creative Studies is located at the corner of W. Milwaukee and Cass Avenue in the former Argonaut Building. Convenient free parking is available adjacent to the college.

To order tickets or secure sponsorships, contact Bedelia Brown at (313) 967- 5619 or

LAD is the largest provider of free civil legal services to low-income residents of Michigan. It serves metropolitan Detroit through its offices in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties. It also represents criminal defendants in Wayne County and the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. Including brief consultations and comprehensive legal services, the public law firm handles some 15,000 legal matters yearly.

“We work with clients in a comprehensive manner, so that as we solve their legal problems, we help solve other problems as well,” Weir said. “We help people rebuild their lives and help families stay together.”

Anyone seeking legal services can call (877) 964-4700 or visit

Roger Lennert
Legal Aid and Defender Association
(313) 967-5607
(313) 587-3077 cell

David Adrian
Adrian & Associates
(248) 322-9226
(248) 515-4607 cell